## SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES ILLINI WEST HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT #307

Date: Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Time: 7:00 PM

Location: 600 Miller Street, Carthage, IL 62321

1) The Regular Meeting of the Illini West High School District 307 of Hancock County, IL was called to order at 7:00 PM.

2) Roll Call:

1. Holly Wilde-Tillman

6. Beth Pence

2. John Huston

7. Tracey Anders

- 3. Betsy Wujek
- 4. Shannon Pence
- 5. Darrell Sutton
- 3) Pledge of Allegiance
- 4) Motion by Anders, seconded by Sutton to approve Minutes of the Special Meeting on December 11, 2019, Minutes of the Truth and Taxation (Levy) Hearing on December 18, 2019, Minutes of the Regular Meeting on December 18, 2019 and Executive Session on December 18, 2019. Roll Call: Wilde-Tillman/yes; Sutton/yes; S Pence/yes; Huston/yes; B Pence/yes; Wujek/yes; Anders/yes. Motion carried.
- 5) Motion by B Pence, seconded by Sutton to approve bills as presented. Roll Call: Wilde-Tillman/yes; Sutton/yes; S Pence/yes; Wujek/yes; Huston/yes; Anders/yes; B Pence/yes. Motion carried.
- 6) Recognition of Visitors Cindy Logan, KHQA's Kendall Hyde and Joy Swearingen.
- 7) Public Comment Cindy Logan signed in because she wanted to talk regarding the building. First meeting only 6 people attended. Discussed strategies IW Building for the Future started a Facebook page today asking us to sign up for meeting dates; Kim will send out the dates of the community meetings for us to sign up for.
- 8) Motion by Anders, seconded by Sutton to approve all consent agenda items as presented. Roll Call: B Pence/yes; S Pence/yes; Huston/yes; Anders/yes; Wilde-Tillman/yes; Sutton/yes; Wujek/yes. Motion carried.
- 9) Reports
  - a. Principal Dallas City and LaHarpe have approved the 8<sup>th</sup> grade Algebra, waiting on Carthage. Mr. Porter has started and seems to be going fine with the support from the IW staff.
  - b. Superintendent Comments about the PowerPoint were super negative, and Mrs. Schilson was asked to provide some guidance on what would be in the building. Discussion on whether we can share this information without fully knowing what will be in the new

building. Mrs. Schilson stated that she feels that Cindy Logan and the steering committee should be suggesting all the positives.

- 10) Discussion/Action
  - a. 2020/2021 Course Catalog
  - b. Teacher Shortage
- 11) Motion by Anders, seconded by Sutton to leave regular session for the purpose of entering Executive Session at 7:27 p.m. to discuss:
  - a. The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee of the public body or against legal counsel for the public body to determine its validity. 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1)
  - b. Discussion of minutes of meetings lawfully closed under the Open Meetings Act, whether for purposes of approval by the body of the minutes or semi-annual review of the minutes as mandated by Section 2.06. 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(21).

Roll Call: Sutton/yes; Anders/yes; Huston/yes; S Pence/yes; Wilde-Tillman/yes; B Pence/yes; Wujek/yes. Motion carried.

Motion by Anders, seconded by Sutton to leave executive session at 7:36 p.m. to return to regular session. Roll call: Wujek/yes; B Pence/yes; Wilde-Tillman/yes; Anders/yes; S Pence/yes; Sutton/yes; Huston/yes. Motion carried.

- 12) Action
  - a. Personnel
  - b. Motion by Sutton, seconded by Anders to approve the destruction of all closed session tapes prior to July 1, 2018. Roll Call: Wilde-Tillman/yes; Anders/yes; Wujek/yes; S Pence/yes; Sutton/yes; B Pence/yes; Huston/yes. Motion carried.
  - c. Motion by Wilde-Tillman, seconded by Sutton to keep all executive session notes closed. Roll Call: S Pence/yes; B Pence/yes; Wujek/yes; Wilde-Tillman/yes; Sutton/yes; Anders/yes; Huston/yes. Motion carried.
- 13) Motion by S Pence, seconded by Sutton to adjourn at 7:39 p.m. Roll Call: Wilde-Tillman/yes; Wujek/yes; Anders/yes; Sutton/yes; S Pence/yes; Huston/yes; B Pence/yes. Motion carried.

	2/19/2020
John Huston, School Board President	Date
	2/19/2020
Betsy Wujek, School Board Secretary	Date